Picture
A great high school movie
High school is the pinnacle of your pre-college education. According to the article on the website http://www.santafewaldorf.org/high-school/importance-of-high-school/, “High school students embark on one of life’s most profound journeys, which ultimately leads them from childhood into adulthood. This journey is characterized by a pursuit of truth.” High school is where one starts to understand who they are as a person and start to develop an answer to the ultimate questions of “Who am I?” and “What is my purpose?” In addition, as my older sister (Yale graduate) would say, high school helps you narrow your interest focus, so you can create more prolific results in a beloved field of study, hoping changing the world in some way. In 10 years, I think I will remember maybe 10% of what I learned in high school. However, as my mom (who has clearly been graduated for more than 10 years) said when I asked her this question, it really depends on the subject. How much you like a subject, the quality of your teacher, and how studious you are all make a great impact in how much you remember according to her. Personally, I think I will remember what I learned in A.P. Chemistry, Honors English, Biology, and Hawaiian the most because those are all subjects that interest me significantly. 
    Autodidacticism relates to education. According to Wikipedia, autodidactisim is self-directed learning, and education is about learning and improving one’s self academically. An autodidact is a self-taught person, according to dictionary.com. One example of autodidacticism is problem-based learning. About four days ago, some students from John A. Burns School of Medicine came to present to my Health and Human Occupations Exploration class. They talked about how they do PBLs at their schools in order to improve their independent learning skills and lessen their dependency on the teacher to lecture all of the information to them. Autodidacticism relates to me personally (and everyone else in Patino’s Biology classes) because in Patino’s class, we have weekly PBLs to complete. Similar to the medical school students, Patino uses the PBLs to increase our metacognitive skills and independence in preparation for further learning.
    Intelligence is inherited and not inherited. We can justify this claim by the findings of genetics. According to class lectures and the Biology textbook, genes are affected by the environment and DNA code. Intelligence that is developed by your environment is not inherited. For example, if your Biology teacher teaches you all about Biology, your intelligence does not come from your genetic code; it comes from your teacher, or in other words, your environment. Intelligence can be inherited however. If intelligence is a dominant trait, then it will be embedded in your genetic code. For example, if your family is amazing at math, being proficient in math is in your genetics, thus making the probability of you being good at math extremely high.  


Photo Credit: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mean_Girls
TETLAMATILIZMACHTIANI
2/23/2013 01:07:54 am

I just checked in to see if you did the work. Glad you did, sorry it wasn't within the time I graded. It is apparent you did not do this work on time due to the date stamp on this blog. Unfortunate. Looking at your material, you did not even answer all the questions I posed to you. I couldn't assess this even if you did this work on time.

Reply



Leave a Reply.